20 Questions with Kara Dirling

Recently, FORM had the pleasure of welcoming Project Designer, Kara Dirling to our team! We’re thrilled to have her join us and knew she was the perfect person to feature in the first installment of our new recurring post, 20 Questions, meant to reveal a different side to our team members.

IMG_7479

  1. Title – Project Designer
  2. Years in the industry – 4 years
  3. Been loving life at FORM since – I joined FORM this Spring, but it was love at first sight.
  4. Favorite destination – Italy
  5. Hometown – Pittsburgh, PA aka Steeler Nation
  6. Currently living in – Arlington, VA
  7. Alma mater – University of Memphis Grad, Go Tigers Go!
  8. Couldn’t live without: My iPhone. I am long distance from my family so it allows me to communicate with them daily. I also use it for literally everything.
  9. If you were a drink, you’d be – A Tequila Sunrise. Vibrant, sweet and strong!
  10. Hidden talent – I’m an artist/painter
  11. If you were a song, you’d be – Pharrell Williams “Happy”. I’m optimistic and don’t sweat the small stuff.
  12. Last meal: Thanksgiving Dinner
  13. If you weren’t a designer, you’d be – A life coach. I’m constantly encouraging others around me to go for the things in life that they’re passionate about and to see their own strengths.
  14. Favorite aspect of design – Interacting with people and being able to use my creativity to make a positive impact on someone’s day-to-day life through design.
  15. First thing you’d buy after winning the lottery – A plane ticket to travel around the world.
  16. Best spot in DC/VA that only the locals know – New to the area and am still figuring this one out. On the weekends you can find me checking out a new restaurant. Bob & Edith’s Diner is one of my favorites for breakfast.
  17. Salty or sweet – Chocoholic
  18. Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter – Summer…bring on the warm weather, suntan lotion and cold drinks!
  19. The one piece of advice you’d share with someone getting into the industry – Hard work and a positive attitude can take you places you never imagined.
  20. The first thing you do when you get to work – Check my e-mail with a mug of Chai tea and make a to-do list for the day.

Leave a comment